Author: Justin Bento

Setting Up Your Environment

Understanding how your environment affects your mood and willingness to journal is crucial. Since most people lack space, it's important to recognize the significant role routines play in this process. So, your mind understands it's time to journal.


Journaling is deeply personal, and while it’s crucial to stay aware of our surroundings, I’m not suggesting you rearrange your entire space. My aim is to stress the significance of a tidy environment when putting your thoughts on paper. Think of it as starting with a clean slate.

As I jot down this article with pen and paper, I’ve made sure to tidy up my surroundings, given the limited space on my desk. To my left, I have a cup of green tea, and I’ve turned off my computer and monitor. If you’re in a similar situation, here are some steps you can follow to declutter and enhance your journaling experience.

Cleaning Steps That Have Worked for Me

  1. Set a timer to keep yourself on track.

  2. Designate a “no parking” zone for items that don’t belong on your workspace.

  3. Put things away when you’re finished using them.

  4. Organize your workspace based on different activities.

  5. Establish a routine to signal transitions between activities.

  6. Perform a nightly cleanup to start fresh the next day.

  7. Remember to enjoy the process and not take it too seriously.

Here’s a glimpse of my desk after implementing these steps.